A thousand miles seems pretty far but they’ve got planes and trains and cars, I’d walk to you if I had no other way!

Artist: Plain White T’s

Song: Hey There Delilah

Album: EP Hey There Delilah (2007)

I don’t remember a single girl around me who didn’t want to be named Delilah in the year 2007 when this song became all the rage. It’s pure romance and its so beautiful it hurts. Even now, 7 years ago, I just need to hear this track every now and then… just to feel good.

It was only yesterday I realized just how much this song is quickly becoming my anthem right now. All the important relationships of my life at the moment are long distance. So when you have a best friend in Toronto, a sister in Qatar, and a person you’re starting to get to know in Liverpool but traveling to Los Angeles, and your days are spent just figuring out different time zones and daylight savings and day/night, hour differences and who’s at work when… this ends up being the most important app on your phone:

capture6And all the songs about distance take so many shades and levels of understanding… and staring at your phone becomes your new fun habit….

Distance is difficult, but I learn everyday that if people are really your people, no distance is far enough… and time is just a minor hitch in the way… and sometimes you can feel closer to your bff by snapchatting than you ever did before.

So this is where I’m at right now… trying to keep busy, reading, writing, thanking Skype, Snapchat, Whatsapp and Facebook everyday…and listening to music!

Enjoy! 🙂

4 Comments

  1. The title is really strong and the best thing about this article is that it’s no less stronger than the title. Some things are true to me as well and therefore heart touching.

    Keep writing. 🙂

Leave a comment